Open demo
Carrier profile · USDOT 68085 · MC-783217 · FMCSA data fetched 2026-10-10

PAULSEN INC

158 power units123 driversInterstateCOZAD, NE

Census status Active (A)MC-783217 · code A
Official links FMCSA SAFER

Data completeness & update times

Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.

SectionSourceSource updatedFetchedStatus
Registration (Census)az4n-8mr22026-10-09 PTOct 10, 01:17 AM PTRead
Operating authorityinys-ebih2026-10-09 PTOct 10, 01:17 AM PTRead
Authority historyyu5v-wbh62026-10-09 PTOct 10, 01:17 AM PTRead
Insurance filingsc5y8-a4uz2026-10-09 PTOct 10, 01:17 AM PTRead
Insurance history3uet-3z4i2026-10-09 PTOct 10, 01:17 AM PTNot provided by official source
Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata 2026-10-09 is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only6sqe-dvqs2026-05-14Oct 10, 01:17 AM PTStale (source > 90 days)
Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 24 · vehicle-level 9fx4q-ay7w2026-10-09 PTOct 10, 01:17 AM PTSmall sample
Crashes, 24 moaayw-vxb32026-10-09 PTOct 10, 01:17 AM PTRead
Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profilecarrier_authorityNot providedOct 9, 02:40 PM PTRead
Directory DB: insurance copycarrier_insuranceNot providedOct 7, 06:48 PM PTRead

VAX record reference score

Beta · trial v1

Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.

Reference score (0–100)

Insufficient data

Coverage — determinable weight, not a score

70/100

Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)

7

How this trial score works and its limits →

01

Safety

Source: SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-09-13 07:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Inspections

23

Driver insp.

23

OOS 0

Vehicle insp.

8

OOS 4

Safety rating

S

2007-04-17

Driver out-of-service rate0.0%
0%50%100%

0 out-of-service of 23 inspections

Vehicle out-of-service rate50.0%
0%50%100%

4 out-of-service of 8 inspections

Rate = OOS inspections ÷ inspections, from the SMS summary; N/A when there are 0 inspections. The SMS summary has no monthly series; the monthly chart below is built from record-level inspections. Roadside inspections are a sample, not the whole fleet.

Roadside inspections · record level

Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:53 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.

Inspections (records)

24

States observed

2

Driver-level insp.

24

with driver OOS 0 · 0.0%

Vehicle-level insp.

9

with vehicle OOS 5 · 55.6%

Monthly inspections & out-of-service rate · 24 months

Inspections per month (count)

02324-1025-0125-0425-0725-1026-0126-0426-0726-10
  • Vehicle-level inspections (I, II, V, VI)
  • Driver-level inspections (I, II, III, VI)

Out-of-service rate by month (%)

0%25%50%75%100%24-1025-0125-0425-0725-1026-0126-0426-0726-10
  • Vehicle OOS rate
  • Driver OOS rate (dashed)
  • Hollow point = fewer than 5 eligible inspections

Computed from record-level inspections in fx4q-ay7w (window 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10, fetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC). OOS rate = inspections with driver/vehicle OOS > 0 ÷ inspections at a driver/vehicle-examining level — not violation counts. Months with no eligible inspection leave a gap (not 0%). The SMS summary is not used to build history.

Driver-level = Levels I, II, III, VI; vehicle-level = Levels I, II, V, VI (FMCSA North American Standard levels). Level IV special studies are in neither. These record-level counts can differ from the SMS summary above, which uses its own snapshot and is left unchanged.

DateStateLevelViolationsOOSDriver viol/OOSVehicle viol/OOSID
2026-09-10NE1110 / 01 / 188970270
2026-08-13NE3000 / 00 / 088689985
2026-07-09NE3000 / 00 / 088358359
2026-06-16NE3000 / 00 / 088167024
2026-06-16NE3000 / 00 / 088167023
All 24 inspections, map and level breakdown →

Reported crashes

Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:28 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.

Crash reports

7

Fatalities

1

Injuries

2

Tow-away

7

Report dateCity, stateFatalitiesInjuriesTow-awayFederal recordableID
2026-09-15Not Reported, NE00YesYes5210073
2026-05-19OXFORD, NE00YesYes5156130
2026-04-10Not Reported, NE00YesYes5136681
2025-12-10COZAD, NE00YesYes5076540
2025-08-19COZAD, NE11YesYes5025768
All crash reports →

Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.

02

Authority & Insurance

Operating authority by docket

DocketAuthority typeStatusBI&PD req. / on file (source value)Cargo req./on fileBond req./on file
MC783217Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)Active1,000,000 / 1,000,000N / NN / N

Source: Motus Carrier – All With History (inys-ebih) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 14:34 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Authority status history

FMCSA change dateDocketAuthority typeNew statusReason (source)
2012-04-27MC783217Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods)ActiveGRANTED

Source: Motus AuthHist – All With History (yu5v-wbh6) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 14:33 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Status and reason text are shown exactly as FMCSA publishes them. The change date is FMCSA's status_change_date; “Dataset updated” is when FMCSA last published the file, and “Fetched” is when VAX read it. The two authority files are shown side by side and are not reconciled by VAX. Amounts: the dictionary says “thousands”, but published values look like dollars, so raw values are shown. Census status is not authority.

Insurance filings

InsurerTypeFormPolicyMax / underlying (source)Effective
BITCO General Insurance CorporationBI&PD · PrimaryBMC-91XCAP 3 555 1441,000,000 / 02012-04-18

Source: Motus Insur – All With History (c5y8-a4uz) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 14:33 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Filings as recorded by FMCSA — not a certificate of insurance or proof of current coverage. Amounts are source values (dictionary: thousands).

No ended-policy rows matched in the current (3uet-3z4i) or legacy (6sqe-dvqs) insurance history. That does not prove there were no prior policies.

Source: Motus InsHist – All With History (3uet-3z4i) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 14:34 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Source: InsHist – legacy (6sqe-dvqs) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 13:16 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTCFrozen by FMCSA since 2026-05-14

03

Equipment

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Power units

158

Truck units

155

Bus units

0

EquipmentOwnedTerm leasedTrip leased
Straight trucks109——
Truck tractors46——
Trailers117——
Ownership mix by equipment type
Straight trucksIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
Truck tractorsIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
TrailersIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
  • Owned
  • Term leased
  • Trip leased

Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.

MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.

Vehicles observed in roadside inspections

Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:13 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTCWindow 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10

24 inspection(s) → 39 unit row(s) → 31 unique vehicle(s) by VIN. Observed vehicles are not the full fleet and not proof of current ownership. Labels like PU-01 are anonymous; full VINs and plates are never shown.

Power units observed

Unique units

19

Decode coverage

100%

19/19

Average age

8.6 yr

n=19

Newest / oldest

2028 / 1995

Make

  • KENWORTH7
  • CHEVROLET4
  • FREIGHTLINER3
  • RAM2
  • INTERNATIONAL1
  • MACK1
  • WESTERN STAR1

Model year

  • 19951
  • 20072
  • 20091
  • 20151
  • 20184
  • 20192
  • 20201
  • 20211
  • 20233
  • 20251
  • 20261
  • 20281

Average age = 2026 − model year, over 19 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.

Trailers observed

Unique units

12

Decode coverage

92%

11/12

Average age

11.9 yr

n=11

Newest / oldest

2025 / 2002

Make

  • PJ4
  • HEIL TRAILER INTERNATIONAL3
  • LBT INC1
  • MAC TRAILER MANUFACTURING1
  • MANAC TRAILERS USA1
  • PJ TRAILERS COMPANY, S.A. DE C.V.1

Model year

  • 20021
  • 20051
  • 20071
  • 20081
  • 20131
  • 20161
  • 20171
  • 20191
  • 20201
  • 20231
  • 20251

Average age = 2026 − model year, over 11 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.

Observed equipment list
UnitMakeModelYearBody classInspectionsLast seen
PU-01CHEVROLETSilverado2018Pickup12026-09-10
TR-01PJPJ2016Trailer12026-09-10
PU-02KENWORTHT8 Series2019Truck-Tractor12026-08-13
TR-02HEIL TRAILER INTERNATIONALHeil Trailer International2008Trailer42026-08-13
PU-03KENWORTHT8 Series2028Truck12026-07-09
TR-03TPD TRAILE (reported)——Trailer12026-06-16
PU-04KENWORTHT8802018Truck-Tractor12026-06-16
PU-05KENWORTHT8802018Truck-Tractor12026-06-16
TR-04MANAC TRAILERS USAManac2005Trailer12026-06-16
PU-06CHEVROLETSilverado2020Pickup12026-05-05
04

Operations

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Carrier operation

Interstate (A)

Classification: PRIVATE PROPERTY;AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE

MCS-150 mileage

4,800,000 mi

Reported year 2025

Cargo classifications checked
  • Building materials
  • Machinery, large objects
  • Liquids/gases
  • Grain, feed, hay
  • Construction
  • Other: SAND AND GRAVEL
Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
4 / 11
Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
4 / 104
Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
Y
Registered address
1116 EAST HWY 30, COZAD, NE, 69130, US

Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.

05

Identity & Federal

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 08:17 UTC

Legal name
PAULSEN INC
DBA
Not provided
USDOT
68085
MC / FF / MX
MC-783217
Physical address
1116 EAST HWY 30, COZAD, NE, 69130, US
Mailing address
P O BOX 17, COZAD, NE, 69130, US
Business type
CORPORATION
Carrier/shipper code
C;S
Census add date
1974-06-01
MCS-150 filing date
2026-04-13
Power units / drivers
158 / 123
Latest review (type · date)
C · 2007-04-11
06

Federal activity

  1. 2026-04-13Census

    Latest MCS-150 filing

  2. 2012-04-27yu5v-wbh6

    Authority status change: Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods) → Active (GRANTED)

  3. 2012-04-18c5y8-a4uz

    Insurance filing effective — BITCO General Insurance Corporation

  4. 2007-04-17Census

    Official safety rating: S

  5. 2007-04-11Census

    Compliance review recorded (C)

  6. 1974-06-01Census

    Added to FMCSA registration

Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).

Changes observed by VAX monitoring

Loading…

07

FAQ

+What is PAULSEN INC's USDOT number?

USDOT 68085, with docket(s) MC-783217.

+Is PAULSEN INC active?

The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.

+How many trucks and drivers does PAULSEN INC report?

158 power units and 123 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2026-04-13.

+Does PAULSEN INC have insurance on file?

1 filing row(s) matched in the FMCSA insurance dataset, most recently effective 2012-04-18 (BITCO General Insurance Corporation). A filing is not a certificate of insurance.

+Where is PAULSEN INC located?

Registered physical address: 1116 EAST HWY 30, COZAD, NE, 69130, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.

Answers are generated from the records on this page.

08

Nearby carriers

—

Sources

Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.