E F THOMPSON INC
74 power units82 driversInterstateFREDERICKSBURG, VA
Data completeness & update times
Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.
| Section | Source | Source updated | Fetched | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registration (Census) | az4n-8mr2 | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Read |
| Operating authority | inys-ebih | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Authority history | yu5v-wbh6 | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance filings | c5y8-a4uz | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history | 3uet-3z4i | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata 2026-10-09 is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only | 6sqe-dvqs | 2026-05-14 | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Stale (source > 90 days) |
| Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 21 · vehicle-level 10 | fx4q-ay7w | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Read |
| Crashes, 24 mo | aayw-vxb3 | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:13 PM PT | Read |
| Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profile | carrier_authority | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
| Directory DB: insurance copy | carrier_insurance | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
VAX record reference score
Beta · trial v1Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.
Reference score (0–100)
Insufficient data
Coverage — determinable weight, not a score
60/100
Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)
6
Safety
Source: SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-09-13 07:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC
23
23
OOS 0
12
OOS 3
S
2003-03-03
0 out-of-service of 23 inspections
3 out-of-service of 12 inspections
Rate = OOS inspections ÷ inspections, from the SMS summary; N/A when there are 0 inspections. The SMS summary has no monthly series; the monthly chart below is built from record-level inspections. Roadside inspections are a sample, not the whole fleet.
Roadside inspections · record level
Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:53 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC
Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
21
2
21
with driver OOS 0 · 0.0%
10
with vehicle OOS 2 · 20.0%
Inspections per month (count)
- Vehicle-level inspections (I, II, V, VI)
- Driver-level inspections (I, II, III, VI)
Out-of-service rate by month (%)
- Vehicle OOS rate
- Driver OOS rate (dashed)
- Hollow point = fewer than 5 eligible inspections
Computed from record-level inspections in fx4q-ay7w (window 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10, fetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC). OOS rate = inspections with driver/vehicle OOS > 0 ÷ inspections at a driver/vehicle-examining level — not violation counts. Months with no eligible inspection leave a gap (not 0%). The SMS summary is not used to build history.
Driver-level = Levels I, II, III, VI; vehicle-level = Levels I, II, V, VI (FMCSA North American Standard levels). Level IV special studies are in neither. These record-level counts can differ from the SMS summary above, which uses its own snapshot and is left unchanged.
| Date | State | Level | Violations | OOS | Driver viol/OOS | Vehicle viol/OOS | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-01 | VA | 3 | 1 | 0 | 1 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89151973 |
| 2026-07-02 | VA | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 88329968 |
| 2026-02-10 | VA | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 87003415 |
| 2025-11-12 | VA | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 86318894 |
| 2025-10-28 | VA | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 86167497 |
Reported crashes
Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:28 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC
Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
6
0
3
6
| Report date | City, state | Fatalities | Injuries | Tow-away | Federal recordable | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-24 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5197689 |
| 2025-12-16 | NORFOLK, VA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5077486 |
| 2025-10-01 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5037470 |
| 2025-09-16 | HAMPTON, VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5032874 |
| 2025-08-29 | STAFFORD, VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5027931 |
Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.
Equipment
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC
74
74
0
| Equipment | Owned | Term leased | Trip leased |
|---|---|---|---|
| Straight trucks | — | — | — |
| Truck tractors | 68 | 6 | — |
| Trailers | 89 | — | — |
- Owned
- Term leased
- Trip leased
Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.
MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.
Vehicles observed in roadside inspections
Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:13 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTCWindow 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10
21 inspection(s) → 42 unit row(s) → 38 unique vehicle(s) by VIN. Observed vehicles are not the full fleet and not proof of current ownership. Labels like PU-01 are anonymous; full VINs and plates are never shown.
Unique units
17
Decode coverage
100%
17/17
Average age
15.8 yr
n=17
Newest / oldest
2023 / 2003
Make
- FREIGHTLINER15
- INTERNATIONAL2
Model year
- 20031
- 20041
- 20052
- 20061
- 20076
- 20152
- 20162
- 20232
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 17 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
Unique units
20
Decode coverage
100%
20/20
Average age
10.3 yr
n=20
Newest / oldest
2018 / 2009
Make
- HYUNDAI TRANSLEAD TRAILERS19
- UTILITY TRAILER MANUFACTURER1
Model year
- 20095
- 20161
- 201814
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 20 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
1 unit(s) could not be classified as power unit or trailer (not decoded).
| Unit | Make | Model | Year | Body class | Inspections | Last seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PU-01 | FREIGHTLINER | Cascadia | 2016 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2026-10-01 |
| TR-01 | HYUNDAI TRANSLEAD TRAILERS | Hyundai Translead Trailers | 2018 | Trailer | 1 | 2026-10-01 |
| PU-02 | FREIGHTLINER | Cascadia | 2016 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2026-07-02 |
| TR-02 | HYUNDAI TRANSLEAD TRAILERS | Hyundai Translead Trailers | 2018 | Trailer | 1 | 2026-07-02 |
| PU-03 | FREIGHTLINER | CST120 | 2006 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2026-02-10 |
| TR-03 | HYUNDAI TRANSLEAD TRAILERS | Hyundai Translead Trailers | 2018 | Trailer | 1 | 2026-02-10 |
| PU-04 | FREIGHTLINER | Columbia | 2007 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2025-11-12 |
| TR-04 | HYUNDAI TRANSLEAD TRAILERS | Hyundai Translead Trailers | 2018 | Trailer | 1 | 2025-11-12 |
| TR-05 | HYUNDAI TRANSLEAD TRAILERS | Hyundai Translead Trailers | 2018 | Trailer | 1 | 2025-10-28 |
| PU-05 | FREIGHTLINER | Cascadia | 2015 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2025-10-27 |
Operations
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC
Interstate (A)
Classification: AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE
7,130,000 mi
Reported year 2023
- General freight
- Building materials
- US mail
- Construction
- Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 10 / 72
- Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 0 / 0
- Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
- N
- Registered address
- 8509 PATRIOT HIGHWAY, FREDERICKSBURG, VA, 22407, US
Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.
Identity & Federal
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC
- Legal name
- E F THOMPSON INC
- DBA
- Not provided
- USDOT
- 45687
- MC / FF / MX
- MC-500891
- Physical address
- 8509 PATRIOT HIGHWAY, FREDERICKSBURG, VA, 22407, US
- Mailing address
- PO BOX 216, THORNBURG, VA, 22565, US
- Business type
- CORPORATION
- Carrier/shipper code
- C
- Census add date
- 1974-06-01
- MCS-150 filing date
- 2024-07-02
- Power units / drivers
- 74 / 82
- Latest review (type · date)
- C · 2003-02-27
Federal activity
- 2024-11-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — SELECTIVE WAY INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2024-07-02Census
Latest MCS-150 filing
- 2022-11-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — PROTECTIVE INSURANCE CO.
- 2021-11-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — PROTECTIVE INSURANCE CO.
- 2018-02-146sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — TRAVELERS PROPERTY CASUALTY CO. OF AMERICA
- 2014-03-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — PROTECTIVE INSURANCE CO.
- 2013-12-266sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — GREAT WEST CASUALTY CO.
- 2013-11-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — GREAT WEST CASUALTY CO.
- 2013-11-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — PROTECTIVE INSURANCE CO.
- 2012-12-056sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — WAUSAU UNDERWRITERS INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2011-12-056sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — WAUSAU UNDERWRITERS INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2010-12-056sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — FIREMEN'S INSURANCE CO. OF WASHINGTON DC
- 2009-08-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — TRAVELERS PROPERTY CASUALTY CO. OF AMERICA
- 2008-12-056sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — SENTRY SELECT INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2005-12-056sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — NORTHLAND INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2004-08-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — TRAVELERS PROPERTY CASUALTY CO. OF AMERICA
- 2003-03-03Census
Official safety rating: S
- 2003-02-27Census
Compliance review recorded (C)
- 1974-06-01Census
Added to FMCSA registration
Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).
Changes observed by VAX monitoring
Loading…
FAQ
+What is E F THOMPSON INC's USDOT number?
USDOT 45687, with docket(s) MC-500891.
+Is E F THOMPSON INC active?
The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.
+How many trucks and drivers does E F THOMPSON INC report?
74 power units and 82 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2024-07-02.
+Does E F THOMPSON INC have insurance on file?
No row matched by DOT (with and without leading zeros) or MC. That alone does not prove there is no insurance — check FMCSA L&I.
+Where is E F THOMPSON INC located?
Registered physical address: 8509 PATRIOT HIGHWAY, FREDERICKSBURG, VA, 22407, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.
Answers are generated from the records on this page.
Nearby carriers
RESCUE USA TOWING LLC
USDOT 9920143 · MC-783460251 power units · 4 drivers
LOYAL TRANSPORTATION LLC
USDOT 9835561 · MC-915391211 power units · 1 drivers
RODELSON LOGISTICS LLC
USDOT 9821047 · MC-961396811 power units · 1 drivers
HS DANIELS LLC
USDOT 97924200 power units · — drivers
MORTON & CHUNN LOGISTICS, LLC
USDOT 97303221 power units · 4 drivers
SORRELLS ENVIRONMENTAL SOLUTIONS LLC
USDOT 97161461 power units · 1 drivers
Other census-active registrations in the same city, newest USDOT first. No ranking or relationship implied. · raw query · Fetched 2026-10-10 02:13 UTC
Sources
- FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2)
- Carrier – All With History (6eyk-hxee)
- Motus Carrier daily (nakq-58th)
- Motus Insur – All With History (c5y8-a4uz)
- InsHist – All With History (6sqe-dvqs)
- SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck)
- Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w)
- Crash File (aayw-vxb3)
Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.
