W O GRUBB STEEL ERECTION INC
DBA W O GRUBB CRANE RENTAL
185 power units239 driversInterstateNORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA
Data completeness & update times
Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.
| Section | Source | Source updated | Fetched | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registration (Census) | az4n-8mr2 | 2026-10-20 PT | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Read |
| Operating authority | inys-ebih | 2026-10-20 PT | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Authority history | yu5v-wbh6 | 2026-10-20 PT | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance filings | c5y8-a4uz | 2026-10-20 PT | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history | 3uet-3z4i | 2026-10-20 PT | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata 2026-10-20 is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only | 6sqe-dvqs | 2026-05-14 | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Stale (source > 90 days) |
| Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 108 · vehicle-level 58 | fx4q-ay7w | 2026-10-20 PT | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Read |
| Crashes, 24 mo | aayw-vxb3 | 2026-10-20 PT | Oct 20, 06:31 PM PT | Read |
| Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profile | carrier_authority | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
| Directory DB: insurance copy | carrier_insurance | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
VAX record reference score
Beta · trial v1Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.
Reference score (0–100)
Insufficient data
Coverage — determinable weight, not a score
60/100
Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)
4
Safety
Source: SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-13 07:05 UTCFetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC
106
106
OOS 4
57
OOS 8
S
2002-09-06
4 out-of-service of 106 inspections
8 out-of-service of 57 inspections
Rate = OOS inspections ÷ inspections, from the SMS summary; N/A when there are 0 inspections. The SMS summary has no monthly series; the monthly chart below is built from record-level inspections. Roadside inspections are a sample, not the whole fleet.
Roadside inspections · record level
Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-20 18:50 UTCFetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC
Window: 2024-10-21 → 2026-10-21 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
108
7
108
with driver OOS 4 · 3.7%
58
with vehicle OOS 8 · 13.8%
Inspections per month (count)
- Vehicle-level inspections (I, II, V, VI)
- Driver-level inspections (I, II, III, VI)
Out-of-service rate by month (%)
- Vehicle OOS rate
- Driver OOS rate (dashed)
- Hollow point = fewer than 5 eligible inspections
Computed from record-level inspections in fx4q-ay7w (window 2024-10-21 → 2026-10-21, fetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC). OOS rate = inspections with driver/vehicle OOS > 0 ÷ inspections at a driver/vehicle-examining level — not violation counts. Months with no eligible inspection leave a gap (not 0%). The SMS summary is not used to build history.
Driver-level = Levels I, II, III, VI; vehicle-level = Levels I, II, V, VI (FMCSA North American Standard levels). Level IV special studies are in neither. These record-level counts can differ from the SMS summary above, which uses its own snapshot and is left unchanged.
| Date | State | Level | Violations | OOS | Driver viol/OOS | Vehicle viol/OOS | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-16 | NC | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89285589 |
| 2026-10-13 | MD | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89266393 |
| 2026-10-09 | NC | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89221711 |
| 2026-09-18 | NC | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89031646 |
| 2026-09-17 | NC | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89030103 |
Reported crashes
Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-20 12:52 UTCFetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC
Window: 2024-10-21 → 2026-10-21 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
4
0
2
4
| Report date | City, state | Fatalities | Injuries | Tow-away | Federal recordable | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-09 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5203070 |
| 2026-08-25 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5197690 |
| 2026-06-29 | SALUDA, NC | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5170935 |
| 2025-09-26 | GARNER, NC | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5098643 |
Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.
Equipment
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-20 20:03 UTCFetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC
185
185
0
| Equipment | Owned | Term leased | Trip leased |
|---|---|---|---|
| Straight trucks | 83 | — | — |
| Truck tractors | 102 | — | — |
| Trailers | 164 | — | — |
- Owned
- Term leased
- Trip leased
Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.
MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.
Vehicles observed in roadside inspections
Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-20 10:55 UTCFetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTCWindow 2024-10-21 → 2026-10-21
108 inspection(s) → 154 unit row(s) → 111 unique vehicle(s) by VIN. 8 row(s) without a valid 17-character VIN were skipped. Observed vehicles are not the full fleet and not proof of current ownership. Labels like PU-01 are anonymous; full VINs and plates are never shown.
Unique units
66
Decode coverage
98%
65/66
Average age
8.6 yr
n=65
Newest / oldest
2027 / 1993
Make
- KENWORTH43
- PETERBILT13
- CHEVROLET2
- FORD2
- FREIGHTLINER2
- GM1
- MACK1
- RAM1
Model year
- 19931
- 20053
- 20073
- 20083
- 20121
- 20132
- 20141
- 20152
- 20167
- 20171
- 201811
- 20193
- 202010
- 20221
- 20232
- 20247
- 20254
- 20262
- 20271
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 65 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
Unique units
41
Decode coverage
80%
33/41
Average age
9.8 yr
n=33
Newest / oldest
2025 / 1989
Make
- MANAC TRAILERS USA11
- TALBERT9
- FONTAINE TRAILER CO.5
- TRANSCRAFT4
- NELSON MANUFACTURING COMPANY3
- GREAT DANE TRAILERS1
Model year
- 19891
- 20041
- 20053
- 20062
- 20082
- 20132
- 20142
- 20162
- 20182
- 20191
- 20222
- 20233
- 20245
- 20255
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 33 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
4 unit(s) could not be classified as power unit or trailer (not decoded).
| Unit | Make | Model | Year | Body class | Inspections | Last seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PU-01 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2027 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2026-10-16 |
| PU-02 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2018 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2026-10-13 |
| TR-01 | TALBERT | TALBERT | 2024 | Trailer | 2 | 2026-10-13 |
| TR-02 | FONTAINE TRAILER CO. | Fontaine Trailer Co. | 2013 | Trailer | 1 | 2026-10-09 |
| PU-03 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2018 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2026-10-09 |
| PU-04 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2026 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2026-09-18 |
| PU-05 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2019 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2026-09-01 |
| TR-03 | TALBERT | TALBERT | 2016 | Trailer | 1 | 2026-09-01 |
| PU-06 | GM | GM515 | 2022 | Incomplete - Chassis Cab (Single Cab) | 4 | 2026-08-28 |
| PU-07 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2016 | Truck | 1 | 2026-08-17 |
Operations
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-20 20:03 UTCFetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC
Interstate (A)
Classification: PRIVATE PROPERTY
2,822,662 mi
Reported year 2024
- Building materials
- Machinery, large objects
- Liquids/gases
- Construction
- Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 239 / 0
- Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 0 / 0
- Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
- N
- Registered address
- 5120 ROUTE 1, NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA, 23234-2252, US
Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.
Identity & Federal
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-20 20:03 UTCFetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC
- Legal name
- W O GRUBB STEEL ERECTION INC
- DBA
- W O GRUBB CRANE RENTAL
- USDOT
- 402966
- MC / FF / MX
- Not provided
- Physical address
- 5120 ROUTE 1, NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA, 23234-2252, US
- Mailing address
- 5120 ROUTE 1, NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA, 23234-2252, US
- Business type
- CORPORATION
- Carrier/shipper code
- C;S
- Census add date
- 1990-07-30
- MCS-150 filing date
- 2024-05-17
- Power units / drivers
- 185 / 239
- Latest review (type · date)
- C · 2002-08-20
Federal activity
- 2024-05-17Census
Latest MCS-150 filing
- 2002-09-06Census
Official safety rating: S
- 2002-08-20Census
Compliance review recorded (C)
- 1990-07-30Census
Added to FMCSA registration
Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).
Changes observed by VAX monitoring
Loading…
FAQ
+What is W O GRUBB STEEL ERECTION INC's USDOT number?
USDOT 402966; no MC/FF/MX docket is listed in the census record.
+Is W O GRUBB STEEL ERECTION INC active?
The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.
+How many trucks and drivers does W O GRUBB STEEL ERECTION INC report?
185 power units and 239 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2024-05-17.
+Does W O GRUBB STEEL ERECTION INC have insurance on file?
No row matched by DOT (with and without leading zeros) or MC. That alone does not prove there is no insurance — check FMCSA L&I.
+Where is W O GRUBB STEEL ERECTION INC located?
Registered physical address: 5120 ROUTE 1, NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA, 23234-2252, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.
Answers are generated from the records on this page.
Nearby carriers
PC'S-R-US, LLC
USDOT 92813064 power units · 4 drivers
SUMNER LOGISTICS LLC
USDOT 92504651 power units · 4 drivers
VA 24HRS COMMERCIAL TRUCK REPAIR & TOWING SERVICES LLC
USDOT 91203194 power units · 1 drivers
EZ WASTE MOVERS LLC
USDOT 72556641 power units · 2 drivers
M 2 TRANSPORT LLC
USDOT 71765234 power units · 8 drivers
PREMIER CLEANING & REMODELING SERVICES LLC
USDOT 6502981 · MC-488514294 power units · 1 drivers
Other census-active registrations in the same city, newest USDOT first. No ranking or relationship implied. · raw query · Fetched 2026-10-21 01:31 UTC
Sources
- FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2)
- Carrier – All With History (6eyk-hxee)
- Motus Carrier daily (nakq-58th)
- Motus Insur – All With History (c5y8-a4uz)
- InsHist – All With History (6sqe-dvqs)
- SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck)
- Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w)
- Crash File (aayw-vxb3)
Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.
