Open demo
Carrier profile · USDOT 385397 · FMCSA data fetched 2026-10-09

RICE'S TOWING AND RECOVERY INC

3 power units2 driversInterstateASHEVILLE, NC

Census status Active (A)
Official links FMCSA SAFER

Data completeness & update times

Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.

SectionSourceSource updatedFetchedStatus
Registration (Census)az4n-8mr2Not providedOct 9, 03:47 PM PTRead
Operating authorityinys-ebihNot provided—Read failed
Authority historyyu5v-wbh6Not provided—Read failed
Insurance filingsc5y8-a4uzNot provided—Read failed
Insurance history3uet-3z4iNot provided—Read failed
Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata — is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only6sqe-dvqsNot provided—Read failed
Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 0 · vehicle-level 0fx4q-ay7w2026-10-09 PTOct 9, 03:47 PM PTNot provided by official source
Crashes, 24 moaayw-vxb32026-10-09 PTOct 9, 03:47 PM PTNot provided by official source
Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profilecarrier_authorityNot provided—Not yet imported
Directory DB: insurance copycarrier_insuranceNot provided—Not yet imported

VAX record reference score

Beta · trial v1

Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.

Reference score (0–100)

Insufficient data

Coverage — determinable weight, not a score

0/100

Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)

0

How this trial score works and its limits →

01

Safety

This source did not respond — not the same as “no record”.

Roadside inspections · record level

Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:53 UTCFetched 2026-10-09 22:47 UTC

Window: 2024-10-09 → 2026-10-09 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.

The source responded with no inspection rows in this window.

Reported crashes

Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:28 UTCFetched 2026-10-09 22:47 UTC

Window: 2024-10-09 → 2026-10-09 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.

Crash reports

0

Fatalities

0

Injuries

0

Tow-away

0

The source responded with no crash reports in this window.

Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.

02

Authority & Insurance

Operating authority by docket

This source did not respond — not the same as “no record”.

Authority status history

This source did not respond — not the same as “no record”.

Status and reason text are shown exactly as FMCSA publishes them. The change date is FMCSA's status_change_date; “Dataset updated” is when FMCSA last published the file, and “Fetched” is when VAX read it. The two authority files are shown side by side and are not reconciled by VAX. Amounts: the dictionary says “thousands”, but published values look like dollars, so raw values are shown. Census status is not authority.

Insurance filings

This source did not respond — not the same as “no record”.

Filings as recorded by FMCSA — not a certificate of insurance or proof of current coverage. Amounts are source values (dictionary: thousands).

03

Equipment

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated not reportedFetched 2026-10-09 22:47 UTC

Power units

3

Truck units

3

Bus units

0

EquipmentOwnedTerm leasedTrip leased
Straight trucks3——
Truck tractors———
Trailers———
Ownership mix by equipment type
Straight trucksIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
Truck tractorsIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
TrailersIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
  • Owned
  • Term leased
  • Trip leased

Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.

MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.

Vehicles observed in roadside inspections

Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:13 UTCFetched 2026-10-09 22:47 UTCWindow 2024-10-09 → 2026-10-09

Too many lookups right now — wait a minute.

04

Operations

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated not reportedFetched 2026-10-09 22:47 UTC

Carrier operation

Interstate (A)

Classification: AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE;EXEMPT FOR HIRE

MCS-150 mileage

50,000 mi

Reported year 2024

Cargo classifications checked
  • Motor vehicles
Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
2 / 0
Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
0 / 0
Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
Y
Registered address
45 GAINES AVE, ASHEVILLE, NC, 28803, US

Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.

05

Identity & Federal

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated not reportedFetched 2026-10-09 22:47 UTC

Legal name
RICE'S TOWING AND RECOVERY INC
DBA
Not provided
USDOT
385397
MC / FF / MX
Not provided
Physical address
45 GAINES AVE, ASHEVILLE, NC, 28803, US
Mailing address
P O BOX 15052, ASHEVILLE, NC, 28813, US
Business type
INDIVIDUAL
Carrier/shipper code
C
Census add date
1990-03-13
MCS-150 filing date
2025-05-28
Power units / drivers
3 / 2
Latest review (type · date)
S · 1990-10-22
06

Federal activity

  1. 2025-05-28Census

    Latest MCS-150 filing

  2. 1990-11-28Census

    Official safety rating: S

  3. 1990-10-22Census

    Compliance review recorded (S)

  4. 1990-03-13Census

    Added to FMCSA registration

Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).

Changes observed by VAX monitoring

Loading…

07

FAQ

+What is RICE'S TOWING AND RECOVERY INC's USDOT number?

USDOT 385397; no MC/FF/MX docket is listed in the census record.

+Is RICE'S TOWING AND RECOVERY INC active?

The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.

+How many trucks and drivers does RICE'S TOWING AND RECOVERY INC report?

3 power units and 2 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2025-05-28.

+Does RICE'S TOWING AND RECOVERY INC have insurance on file?

The insurance source did not respond for this page load.

+Where is RICE'S TOWING AND RECOVERY INC located?

Registered physical address: 45 GAINES AVE, ASHEVILLE, NC, 28803, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.

Answers are generated from the records on this page.

08

Nearby carriers

—

Sources

Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.