CARTER MACHINERY COMPANY INC
713 power units606 driversInterstateSALEM, VA
Data completeness & update times
Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.
| Section | Source | Source updated | Fetched | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registration (Census) | az4n-8mr2 | 2026-10-10 PT | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Read |
| Operating authority | inys-ebih | 2026-10-10 PT | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Authority history | yu5v-wbh6 | 2026-10-10 PT | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance filings | c5y8-a4uz | 2026-10-10 PT | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history | 3uet-3z4i | 2026-10-10 PT | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata 2026-10-10 is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only | 6sqe-dvqs | 2026-05-14 | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Stale (source > 90 days) |
| Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 195 · vehicle-level 142 | fx4q-ay7w | 2026-10-10 PT | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Read |
| Crashes, 24 mo | aayw-vxb3 | 2026-10-10 PT | Oct 10, 03:11 PM PT | Read |
| Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profile | carrier_authority | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
| Directory DB: insurance copy | carrier_insurance | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
VAX record reference score
Beta · trial v1Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.
Reference score (0–100)
Insufficient data
Coverage — determinable weight, not a score
60/100
Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)
16
Safety
Source: SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-09-13 07:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC
190
190
OOS 4
139
OOS 8
C
1987-09-10
4 out-of-service of 190 inspections
8 out-of-service of 139 inspections
Rate = OOS inspections ÷ inspections, from the SMS summary; N/A when there are 0 inspections. The SMS summary has no monthly series; the monthly chart below is built from record-level inspections. Roadside inspections are a sample, not the whole fleet.
Roadside inspections · record level
Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-10 10:55 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC
Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
195
10
195
with driver OOS 4 · 2.1%
142
with vehicle OOS 10 · 7.0%
Inspections per month (count)
- Vehicle-level inspections (I, II, V, VI)
- Driver-level inspections (I, II, III, VI)
Out-of-service rate by month (%)
- Vehicle OOS rate
- Driver OOS rate (dashed)
- Hollow point = fewer than 5 eligible inspections
Computed from record-level inspections in fx4q-ay7w (window 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10, fetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC). OOS rate = inspections with driver/vehicle OOS > 0 ÷ inspections at a driver/vehicle-examining level — not violation counts. Months with no eligible inspection leave a gap (not 0%). The SMS summary is not used to build history.
Driver-level = Levels I, II, III, VI; vehicle-level = Levels I, II, V, VI (FMCSA North American Standard levels). Level IV special studies are in neither. These record-level counts can differ from the SMS summary above, which uses its own snapshot and is left unchanged.
| Date | State | Level | Violations | OOS | Driver viol/OOS | Vehicle viol/OOS | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-06 | WV | 3 | 1 | 0 | 1 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89206657 |
| 2026-10-06 | MD | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89206364 |
| 2026-10-05 | GA | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 1 / 0 | 89193853 |
| 2026-10-05 | MD | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 2 / 0 | 89187122 |
| 2026-09-29 | MD | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 1 / 0 | 89134305 |
Reported crashes
Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-10 15:53 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC
Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
16
0
13
15
| Report date | City, state | Fatalities | Injuries | Tow-away | Federal recordable | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-02 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5201588 |
| 2026-08-24 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 3 | Yes | Yes | 5197613 |
| 2026-08-24 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 3 | Yes | Yes | 5197614 |
| 2026-07-21 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5185534 |
| 2026-06-30 | NORFOLK, VA | 0 | 1 | No | Yes | 5176504 |
Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.
Equipment
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-10 14:49 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC
713
713
0
| Equipment | Owned | Term leased | Trip leased |
|---|---|---|---|
| Straight trucks | 657 | — | — |
| Truck tractors | 56 | — | — |
| Trailers | 54 | — | — |
- Owned
- Term leased
- Trip leased
Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.
MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.
Vehicles observed in roadside inspections
Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-10 11:22 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTCWindow 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10
195 inspection(s) → 227 unit row(s) → 158 unique vehicle(s) by VIN. Observed vehicles are not the full fleet and not proof of current ownership. Labels like PU-01 are anonymous; full VINs and plates are never shown.
Unique units
136
Decode coverage
100%
136/136
Average age
6.7 yr
n=136
Newest / oldest
2027 / 1993
Make
- KENWORTH92
- FORD22
- INTERNATIONAL8
- PETERBILT6
- GM3
- CATERPILLAR2
- FREIGHTLINER1
- RAM1
Model year
- 19933
- 19968
- 20051
- 20071
- 20153
- 20166
- 20174
- 201810
- 201914
- 202012
- 20215
- 20225
- 202313
- 202427
- 202516
- 20264
- 20274
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 136 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
Unique units
22
Decode coverage
73%
16/22
Average age
5.0 yr
n=16
Newest / oldest
2026 / 2013
Make
- LEDWELL & SONS ENTERPRISES, INC.8
- TRAIL KING INDUSTRIES5
- ETNYRE1
- TOWMASTER INC.1
- UTILITY TRAILER MANUFACTURER1
Model year
- 20131
- 20151
- 20161
- 20172
- 20191
- 20201
- 20233
- 20242
- 20252
- 20262
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 16 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
| Unit | Make | Model | Year | Body class | Inspections | Last seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PU-01 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2027 | Truck | 1 | 2026-10-06 |
| PU-02 | KENWORTH | T380 | 2024 | Truck | 1 | 2026-10-06 |
| PU-03 | FORD | F-550 | 2025 | Incomplete - Chassis Cab (Double Cab) | 1 | 2026-10-05 |
| PU-04 | KENWORTH | T280 | 2026 | Truck | 2 | 2026-10-05 |
| PU-05 | WESTERN STAR | 4900 | 2020 | Truck | 6 | 2026-09-29 |
| PU-06 | KENWORTH | C500 | 1996 | Truck | 3 | 2026-09-25 |
| TR-01 | LEDWELL & SONS ENTERPRISES, INC. | Ledwell & Sons Enterprises, Inc. | 2023 | Trailer | 2 | 2026-09-17 |
| PU-07 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2027 | Truck | 1 | 2026-09-17 |
| PU-08 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2024 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2026-09-17 |
| PU-09 | KENWORTH | T3 Series | 2017 | Truck | 1 | 2026-09-15 |
Operations
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-10 14:49 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC
Interstate (A)
Classification: PRIVATE PROPERTY
13,950,000 mi
Reported year 2025
- Motor vehicles
- Machinery, large objects
- Liquids/gases
- Other: UNSPECIFIED
- Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 101 / 286
- Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 15 / 204
- Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
- Y
- Registered address
- 1330 LYNCHBURG TPKE, SALEM, VA, 24153-5457, US
Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.
Identity & Federal
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-10 14:49 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC
- Legal name
- CARTER MACHINERY COMPANY INC
- DBA
- Not provided
- USDOT
- 32541
- MC / FF / MX
- Not provided
- Physical address
- 1330 LYNCHBURG TPKE, SALEM, VA, 24153-5457, US
- Mailing address
- P O BOX 3096, SALEM, VA, 24153-0618, US
- Business type
- CORPORATION
- Carrier/shipper code
- C;S
- Census add date
- 1974-06-01
- MCS-150 filing date
- 2026-01-29
- Power units / drivers
- 713 / 606
- Latest review (type · date)
- S · 1987-09-10
Federal activity
- 2026-01-29Census
Latest MCS-150 filing
- 1987-09-10Census
Compliance review recorded (S)
- 1987-09-10Census
Official safety rating: C
- 1974-06-01Census
Added to FMCSA registration
Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).
Changes observed by VAX monitoring
Loading…
FAQ
+What is CARTER MACHINERY COMPANY INC's USDOT number?
USDOT 32541; no MC/FF/MX docket is listed in the census record.
+Is CARTER MACHINERY COMPANY INC active?
The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.
+How many trucks and drivers does CARTER MACHINERY COMPANY INC report?
713 power units and 606 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2026-01-29.
+Does CARTER MACHINERY COMPANY INC have insurance on file?
No row matched by DOT (with and without leading zeros) or MC. That alone does not prove there is no insurance — check FMCSA L&I.
+Where is CARTER MACHINERY COMPANY INC located?
Registered physical address: 1330 LYNCHBURG TPKE, SALEM, VA, 24153-5457, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.
Answers are generated from the records on this page.
Nearby carriers
COMPASSPOINT COMMUNITY PARTNERS, LLC
USDOT 8561735 · MC-604788220 power units · — drivers
VA RIDGE TRANSPORT LLC
USDOT 8074421 · MC-574372481 power units · 1 drivers
ERICK MASON
USDOT 7652444 · MC-688719602 power units · 4 drivers
REED DIESEL PERFORMANCE
USDOT 72717412 power units · 6 drivers
IWYSK TRANS LLC
USDOT 6441829 · MC-604664260 power units · 2 drivers
PEGASI TRUCKING LLC
USDOT 4580795 · MC-18234300 power units · 1 drivers
Other census-active registrations in the same city, newest USDOT first. No ranking or relationship implied. · raw query · Fetched 2026-10-10 22:11 UTC
Sources
- FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2)
- Carrier – All With History (6eyk-hxee)
- Motus Carrier daily (nakq-58th)
- Motus Insur – All With History (c5y8-a4uz)
- InsHist – All With History (6sqe-dvqs)
- SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck)
- Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w)
- Crash File (aayw-vxb3)
Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.
