HILLS TRUCKING COMPANY
42 power units31 driversInterstateGALAX, VA
Data completeness & update times
Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.
| Section | Source | Source updated | Fetched | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registration (Census) | az4n-8mr2 | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Read |
| Operating authority | inys-ebih | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Authority history | yu5v-wbh6 | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance filings | c5y8-a4uz | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history | 3uet-3z4i | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata 2026-10-09 is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only | 6sqe-dvqs | 2026-05-14 | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Stale (source > 90 days) |
| Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 45 · vehicle-level 19 | fx4q-ay7w | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Read |
| Crashes, 24 mo | aayw-vxb3 | 2026-10-09 PT | Oct 9, 07:40 PM PT | Read |
| Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profile | carrier_authority | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
| Directory DB: insurance copy | carrier_insurance | Not provided | — | Not yet imported |
VAX record reference score
Beta · trial v1Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.
Reference score (0–100)
Insufficient data
Coverage — determinable weight, not a score
60/100
Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)
6
Safety
Source: SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-09-13 07:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC
41
41
OOS 1
18
OOS 7
S
2013-05-23
1 out-of-service of 41 inspections
7 out-of-service of 18 inspections
Rate = OOS inspections ÷ inspections, from the SMS summary; N/A when there are 0 inspections. The SMS summary has no monthly series; the monthly chart below is built from record-level inspections. Roadside inspections are a sample, not the whole fleet.
Roadside inspections · record level
Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:53 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC
Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
45
8
45
with driver OOS 2 · 4.4%
19
with vehicle OOS 7 · 36.8%
Inspections per month (count)
- Vehicle-level inspections (I, II, V, VI)
- Driver-level inspections (I, II, III, VI)
Out-of-service rate by month (%)
- Vehicle OOS rate
- Driver OOS rate (dashed)
- Hollow point = fewer than 5 eligible inspections
Computed from record-level inspections in fx4q-ay7w (window 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10, fetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC). OOS rate = inspections with driver/vehicle OOS > 0 ÷ inspections at a driver/vehicle-examining level — not violation counts. Months with no eligible inspection leave a gap (not 0%). The SMS summary is not used to build history.
Driver-level = Levels I, II, III, VI; vehicle-level = Levels I, II, V, VI (FMCSA North American Standard levels). Level IV special studies are in neither. These record-level counts can differ from the SMS summary above, which uses its own snapshot and is left unchanged.
| Date | State | Level | Violations | OOS | Driver viol/OOS | Vehicle viol/OOS | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-07 | NC | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 89194009 |
| 2026-10-05 | MD | 1 | 4 | 2 | 0 / 0 | 4 / 2 | 89195844 |
| 2026-09-21 | IN | 3 | 2 | 1 | 2 / 1 | 0 / 0 | 89077921 |
| 2026-09-17 | OH | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 / 0 | 1 / 0 | 89032240 |
| 2026-09-11 | VA | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 88985928 |
Reported crashes
Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 10:28 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC
Window: 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
6
1
2
6
| Report date | City, state | Fatalities | Injuries | Tow-away | Federal recordable | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-02 | DUNN, NC | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5200877 |
| 2026-07-08 | LEXINGTON, NC | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5181934 |
| 2025-09-18 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5037421 |
| 2025-09-09 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5025210 |
| 2025-09-08 | Not Reported, VA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5027882 |
Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.
Equipment
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC
42
42
0
| Equipment | Owned | Term leased | Trip leased |
|---|---|---|---|
| Straight trucks | 2 | — | — |
| Truck tractors | 40 | — | — |
| Trailers | — | — | — |
- Owned
- Term leased
- Trip leased
Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.
MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.
Vehicles observed in roadside inspections
Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:13 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTCWindow 2024-10-10 → 2026-10-10
45 inspection(s) → 89 unit row(s) → 46 unique vehicle(s) by VIN. 5 row(s) without a valid 17-character VIN were skipped. Observed vehicles are not the full fleet and not proof of current ownership. Labels like PU-01 are anonymous; full VINs and plates are never shown.
Unique units
24
Decode coverage
100%
24/24
Average age
18.3 yr
n=24
Newest / oldest
2027 / 1997
Make
- INTERNATIONAL21
- PETERBILT3
Model year
- 19971
- 19994
- 20002
- 20055
- 20075
- 20151
- 20174
- 20241
- 20271
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 24 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
Unique units
18
Decode coverage
83%
15/18
Average age
4.5 yr
n=15
Newest / oldest
2026 / 2009
Make
- WILSON9
- MAC TRAILER MANUFACTURING3
- EAST MANUFACTURING CORP.2
- HAHNZ MFG LLC1
Model year
- 20091
- 20162
- 20191
- 20212
- 20232
- 20243
- 20252
- 20262
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 15 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
4 unit(s) could not be classified as power unit or trailer (not decoded).
| Unit | Make | Model | Year | Body class | Inspections | Last seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PU-01 | INTERNATIONAL | L9327 | 2007 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2026-10-07 |
| UN-01 | OT (reported) | — | — | — | 1 | 2026-10-07 |
| PU-02 | INTERNATIONAL | 9400i | 2005 | Truck-Tractor | 3 | 2026-10-05 |
| TR-01 | MAC TRAILE (reported) | — | — | Trailer | 3 | 2026-10-05 |
| TR-02 | WILSON | Wilson | 2024 | Trailer | 2 | 2026-09-21 |
| PU-03 | INTERNATIONAL | L9377 | 2017 | Truck-Tractor | 4 | 2026-09-21 |
| TR-03 | WILSON | Wilson | 2025 | Trailer | 1 | 2026-09-17 |
| PU-04 | INTERNATIONAL | HX520 | 2027 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2026-09-17 |
| TR-04 | EAST MANUFACTURING CORP. | East Manufacturing Corp | 2016 | Trailer | 1 | 2026-09-11 |
| PU-05 | INTERNATIONAL | 9900ix | 2000 | Truck-Tractor | 1 | 2026-09-11 |
Operations
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC
Interstate (A)
Classification: AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE
2,532,296 mi
Reported year 2025
- General freight
- Grain, feed, hay
- Coal/coke
- Other: GRAIN, ROCK, SAND
- Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 27 / 4
- Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 0 / 0
- Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
- N
- Registered address
- 7080 CARROLTON PIKE, GALAX, VA, 24333, US
Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.
Identity & Federal
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-09 11:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC
- Legal name
- HILLS TRUCKING COMPANY
- DBA
- Not provided
- USDOT
- 259465
- MC / FF / MX
- MC-183648
- Physical address
- 7080 CARROLTON PIKE, GALAX, VA, 24333, US
- Mailing address
- PO BOX 148, FRIES, VA, 24330, US
- Business type
- CORPORATION
- Carrier/shipper code
- C
- Census add date
- 1985-05-13
- MCS-150 filing date
- 2025-12-30
- Power units / drivers
- 42 / 31
- Latest review (type · date)
- C · 2010-06-10
Federal activity
- 2025-12-30Census
Latest MCS-150 filing
- 2025-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2025-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2024-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2024-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2023-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2019-07-246sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2018-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2017-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2016-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2015-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2013-05-23Census
Official safety rating: S
- 2010-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — MARKEL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2010-06-10Census
Compliance review recorded (C)
- 2009-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — ESSEX INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2007-12-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2007-11-096sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — MARKEL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2006-11-096sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — MARKEL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2005-01-056sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2004-12-056sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — MARKEL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2004-11-096sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — MARKEL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2004-11-096sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2003-04-166sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — MARKEL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2002-11-096sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — MARKEL AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 1999-11-096sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — ALBANY INSURANCE COMPANY
- 1999-01-076sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 1998-12-106sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — ALBANY INSURANCE COMPANY
- 1998-12-106sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — ALBANY INSURANCE COMPANY
- 1994-11-096sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — ALBANY INSURANCE COMPANY
- 1985-05-13Census
Added to FMCSA registration
Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).
Changes observed by VAX monitoring
Loading…
FAQ
+What is HILLS TRUCKING COMPANY's USDOT number?
USDOT 259465, with docket(s) MC-183648.
+Is HILLS TRUCKING COMPANY active?
The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.
+How many trucks and drivers does HILLS TRUCKING COMPANY report?
42 power units and 31 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2025-12-30.
+Does HILLS TRUCKING COMPANY have insurance on file?
No row matched by DOT (with and without leading zeros) or MC. That alone does not prove there is no insurance — check FMCSA L&I.
+Where is HILLS TRUCKING COMPANY located?
Registered physical address: 7080 CARROLTON PIKE, GALAX, VA, 24333, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.
Answers are generated from the records on this page.
Nearby carriers
ROBINSONS TRUCKING LLC
USDOT 7114525 · MC-527418688 power units · 1 drivers
FIELDER ELECTRIC MOTOR REPAIR INC.
USDOT 69915337 power units · 14 drivers
S&K TRUCKING
USDOT 57619641 power units · 2 drivers
ALLEY'S WRECKER SERVICE LLC
USDOT 45810642 power units · 1 drivers
GAMA1209 INSTALLATIONS LLC
USDOT 45665721 power units · 2 drivers
BLUEWAY TRANSPORT LLC
USDOT 4519899 · MC-17906901 power units · 2 drivers
Other census-active registrations in the same city, newest USDOT first. No ranking or relationship implied. · raw query · Fetched 2026-10-10 02:40 UTC
Sources
- FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2)
- Carrier – All With History (6eyk-hxee)
- Motus Carrier daily (nakq-58th)
- Motus Insur – All With History (c5y8-a4uz)
- InsHist – All With History (6sqe-dvqs)
- SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck)
- Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w)
- Crash File (aayw-vxb3)
Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.
