HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC
DBA HOWARD'S WRECKER SERVICE
28 power units23 driversInterstateMABLETON, GA
Data completeness & update times
Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.
| Section | Source | Source updated | Fetched | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registration (Census) | az4n-8mr2 | 2026-10-17 PT | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Read |
| Operating authority | inys-ebih | 2026-10-19 PT | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Read |
| Authority history | yu5v-wbh6 | 2026-10-19 PT | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Read |
| Insurance filings | c5y8-a4uz | 2026-10-19 PT | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Read |
| Insurance history | 3uet-3z4i | 2026-10-19 PT | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Not provided by official source |
| Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata 2026-10-18 is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only | 6sqe-dvqs | 2026-05-14 | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Stale (source > 90 days) |
| Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 24 · vehicle-level 10 | fx4q-ay7w | 2026-10-18 PT | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Read |
| Crashes, 24 mo | aayw-vxb3 | 2026-10-19 PT | Oct 19, 06:05 AM PT | Read |
| Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profile | carrier_authority | Not provided | Oct 18, 10:40 AM PT | Read |
| Directory DB: insurance copy | carrier_insurance | Not provided | Oct 7, 06:49 PM PT | Read |
VAX record reference score
Beta · trial v1Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.
Reference score (0–100)
72
Coverage — determinable weight, not a score
100/100
Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)
7
Safety
Source: SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-13 07:05 UTCFetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC
26
26
OOS 1
10
OOS 8
S
1995-08-02
1 out-of-service of 26 inspections
8 out-of-service of 10 inspections
Rate = OOS inspections ÷ inspections, from the SMS summary; N/A when there are 0 inspections. The SMS summary has no monthly series; the monthly chart below is built from record-level inspections. Roadside inspections are a sample, not the whole fleet.
Roadside inspections · record level
Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-18 14:47 UTCFetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC
Window: 2024-10-19 → 2026-10-19 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
24
3
24
with driver OOS 1 · 4.2%
10
with vehicle OOS 8 · 80.0%
Inspections per month (count)
- Vehicle-level inspections (I, II, V, VI)
- Driver-level inspections (I, II, III, VI)
Out-of-service rate by month (%)
- Vehicle OOS rate
- Driver OOS rate (dashed)
- Hollow point = fewer than 5 eligible inspections
Computed from record-level inspections in fx4q-ay7w (window 2024-10-19 → 2026-10-19, fetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC). OOS rate = inspections with driver/vehicle OOS > 0 ÷ inspections at a driver/vehicle-examining level — not violation counts. Months with no eligible inspection leave a gap (not 0%). The SMS summary is not used to build history.
Driver-level = Levels I, II, III, VI; vehicle-level = Levels I, II, V, VI (FMCSA North American Standard levels). Level IV special studies are in neither. These record-level counts can differ from the SMS summary above, which uses its own snapshot and is left unchanged.
| Date | State | Level | Violations | OOS | Driver viol/OOS | Vehicle viol/OOS | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-21 | AL | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 / 0 | 1 / 1 | 89062536 |
| 2026-08-13 | AL | 2 | 4 | 1 | 0 / 0 | 4 / 1 | 88709747 |
| 2026-06-22 | SC | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 / 0 | 1 / 1 | 88225850 |
| 2026-06-15 | SC | 3 | 2 | 0 | 1 / 0 | 1 / 0 | 88154055 |
| 2026-05-18 | GA | 3 | 1 | 0 | 1 / 0 | 0 / 0 | 87919473 |
Reported crashes
Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 12:46 UTCFetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC
Window: 2024-10-19 → 2026-10-19 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.
7
0
2
7
| Report date | City, state | Fatalities | Injuries | Tow-away | Federal recordable | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-01 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5204693 |
| 2026-08-27 | SMYRNA, GA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5213536 |
| 2025-10-09 | Not Reported, GA | 0 | 1 | Yes | Yes | 5047045 |
| 2025-10-06 | SMYRNA, GA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5044055 |
| 2025-09-25 | ATLANTA, GA | 0 | 0 | Yes | Yes | 5046999 |
Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.
Equipment
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-17 18:39 UTCFetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC
28
28
0
| Equipment | Owned | Term leased | Trip leased |
|---|---|---|---|
| Straight trucks | 21 | — | — |
| Truck tractors | 7 | — | — |
| Trailers | 6 | — | — |
- Owned
- Term leased
- Trip leased
Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.
MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.
Vehicles observed in roadside inspections
Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-18 10:49 UTCFetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTCWindow 2024-10-19 → 2026-10-19
24 inspection(s) → 34 unit row(s) → 21 unique vehicle(s) by VIN. 1 row(s) without a valid 17-character VIN were skipped. Observed vehicles are not the full fleet and not proof of current ownership. Labels like PU-01 are anonymous; full VINs and plates are never shown.
Unique units
17
Decode coverage
94%
16/17
Average age
5.5 yr
n=16
Newest / oldest
2027 / 2016
Make
- KENWORTH5
- FREIGHTLINER4
- PETERBILT3
- HINO1
- HYUNDAI1
- VOLVO TRUCK1
- WESTERN STAR1
Model year
- 20161
- 20171
- 20182
- 20192
- 20203
- 20212
- 20222
- 20241
- 20251
- 20271
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 16 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
Unique units
4
Decode coverage
75%
3/4
Average age
5.3 yr
n=3
Newest / oldest
2023 / 2018
Make
- DAKOTA MANUFACTURING CO. / TRAIL-EZE1
- KALYN SIEBERT1
- TALBERT1
Model year
- 20181
- 20211
- 20231
Average age = 2026 − model year, over 3 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.
| Unit | Make | Model | Year | Body class | Inspections | Last seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PU-01 | FREIGHTLINER | M2 | 2022 | Truck | 2 | 2026-09-21 |
| PU-02 | PETERBILT | 567 | 2027 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2026-06-22 |
| TR-01 | PITMAN BRO (reported) | — | — | Trailer | 3 | 2026-06-22 |
| PU-03 | WESTERN STAR | 49X Chassis | 2025 | Truck | 1 | 2026-05-18 |
| PU-04 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2019 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2026-01-09 |
| TR-02 | KALYN SIEBERT | Kalyn Siebert | 2021 | Trailer | 2 | 2026-01-09 |
| PU-05 | KENWORTH | T3 Series | 2020 | Truck | 3 | 2025-12-08 |
| PU-06 | PETERBILT | 567 | 2018 | Truck | 2 | 2025-09-25 |
| PU-07 | FREIGHTLINER | SD122 | 2019 | Truck | 1 | 2025-09-18 |
| PU-08 | KENWORTH | T880 | 2024 | Truck-Tractor | 2 | 2025-09-04 |
Operations
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-17 18:39 UTCFetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC
Interstate (A)
Classification: AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE;EXEMPT FOR HIRE
1,133,503 mi
Reported year 2023
- General freight
- Metal: sheets, coils, rolls
- Motor vehicles
- Drive/tow away
- Machinery, large objects
- Intermodal containers
- Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 9 / 14
- Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
- 0 / 0
- Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
- N
- Registered address
- 1650 ARMSTRONG PLACE, MABLETON, GA, 30126, US
Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.
Identity & Federal
Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-17 18:39 UTCFetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC
- Legal name
- HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC
- DBA
- HOWARD'S WRECKER SERVICE
- USDOT
- 182546
- MC / FF / MX
- MC-309492, MC-310783
- Physical address
- 1650 ARMSTRONG PLACE, MABLETON, GA, 30126, US
- Mailing address
- 1650 ARMSTRONG PLACE, MABLETON, GA, 30126, US
- Business type
- CORPORATION
- Carrier/shipper code
- C
- Census add date
- 1974-06-01
- MCS-150 filing date
- 2026-04-17
- Power units / drivers
- 28 / 23
- Latest review (type · date)
- C · 1995-07-19
Federal activity
- 2026-04-17Census
Latest MCS-150 filing
- 2025-06-16c5y8-a4uz
Insurance filing effective — National Interstate Insurance Company
- 2025-06-166sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — NEW HAMPSHIRE INSURANCE CO.
- 2024-09-19yu5v-wbh6
Authority status change: Motor Carrier of Property (Except Household Goods) → Active (REINSTATED)
- 2024-08-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — GRANITE STATE INSURANCE CO.
- 2024-08-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2024-08-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — NEW HAMPSHIRE INSURANCE CO.
- 2022-08-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — AMGUARD INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2021-08-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2017-08-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — UNITED SPECIALTY INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2017-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — UNITED SPECIALTY INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2016-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — NATIONAL CASUALTY COMPANY
- 2015-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CANAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2014-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — ARCH INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2013-06-016sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — ARCH INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2013-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — PROGRESSIVE MOUNTAIN INSURANCE COMPANY OF OHI
- 2012-05-116sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — PROGRESSIVE MOUNTAIN INSURANCE COMPANY OF OHI
- 2012-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — PROGRESSIVE MOUNTAIN INSURANCE COMPANY OF OHI
- 2011-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — PROGRESSIVE MOUNTAIN INSURANCE COMPANY OF OHI
- 2011-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — PROGRESSIVE MOUNTAIN INSURANCE COMPANY OF OHI
- 2010-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — REDLAND INSURANCE CO.
- 2010-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — REDLAND INSURANCE CO.
- 2009-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — GRANGE INSURANCE COMPANY.
- 2009-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — GRANGE INSURANCE COMPANY.
- 2009-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — QBE SPECIALTY INSURANCE CORPORATION
- 2009-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — REDLAND INSURANCE CO.
- 2008-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — SUA INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2008-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — SUA INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2007-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — SPECIALTY UNDERWRITERS ALLIANCE
- 2007-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — SPECIALTY UNDERWRITERS ALLIANCE
- 2006-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CYPRESS INSURANCE COMPANY (CA)
- 2006-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — GRANGE INSURANCE COMPANY.
- 2006-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — SPECIALTY UNDERWRITERS ALLIANCE
- 2005-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — CYPRESS INSURANCE COMPANY (CA)
- 2004-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — LINCOLN GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2004-03-246sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — LINCOLN GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY
- 2003-05-066sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (cancelled) — INTERSTATE INDEMNITY COMPANY
- 2003-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — INTERSTATE INDEMNITY COMPANY
- 2003-03-276sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — CENTENNIAL INSURANCE CO.
- 2003-03-156sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — SOUTHERN GUARANTY INSURANCE CO.
- 1998-02-036sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — SOUTHERN GUARANTY INSURANCE CO.
- 1996-02-036sqe-dvqs
Prior policy ended (replaced) — FEDERAL INSURANCE CO.
- 1995-08-02Census
Official safety rating: S
- 1995-07-19Census
Compliance review recorded (C)
- 1974-06-01Census
Added to FMCSA registration
Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).
Changes observed by VAX monitoring
Loading…
FAQ
+What is HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC's USDOT number?
USDOT 182546, with docket(s) MC-309492, MC-310783.
+Is HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC active?
The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.
+How many trucks and drivers does HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC report?
28 power units and 23 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2026-04-17.
+Does HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC have insurance on file?
1 filing row(s) matched in the FMCSA insurance dataset, most recently effective 2025-06-16 (National Interstate Insurance Company). A filing is not a certificate of insurance.
+Where is HOWARD & SONS AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INC located?
Registered physical address: 1650 ARMSTRONG PLACE, MABLETON, GA, 30126, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.
Answers are generated from the records on this page.
Nearby carriers
GG & CC TRANSPORTATION LLC
USDOT 9168740 · MC-722381792 power units · 1 drivers
BROOKMERE LOGISTICS LLC
USDOT 80479991 power units · 4 drivers
MARCH FOURTH ENTERPRISE LLC
USDOT 80420671 power units · 1 drivers
KING TRANSPORT SERVICES LLC
USDOT 8027691 · MC-519638191 power units · 1 drivers
ROSS LAND AND TREE LLC
USDOT 78357261 power units · 1 drivers
BY BLOOMING ENTERPRISE LLC
USDOT 7831344 · MC-906130602 power units · 4 drivers
Other census-active registrations in the same city, newest USDOT first. No ranking or relationship implied. · raw query · Fetched 2026-10-19 13:05 UTC
Sources
- FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2)
- Carrier – All With History (6eyk-hxee)
- Motus Carrier daily (nakq-58th)
- Motus Insur – All With History (c5y8-a4uz)
- InsHist – All With History (6sqe-dvqs)
- SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck)
- Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w)
- Crash File (aayw-vxb3)
Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.
