Open demo
Carrier profile · USDOT 144525 · MC-142801 · FMCSA data fetched 2026-10-20

VANCE BROTHERS LLC

263 power units221 driversInterstateKANSAS CITY, MO

Census status Active (A)MC-142801 · code A
Official links FMCSA SAFER

Data completeness & update times

Per official source. A failed read is not zero; “not yet imported” means the directory database has no stored copy yet — not “no authority” or “no insurance”.

SectionSourceSource updatedFetchedStatus
Registration (Census)az4n-8mr22026-10-19 PTOct 20, 01:04 AM PTRead
Operating authorityinys-ebih2026-10-19 PTOct 20, 01:04 AM PTNot provided by official source
Authority historyyu5v-wbh62026-10-19 PTOct 20, 01:04 AM PTNot provided by official source
Insurance filingsc5y8-a4uz2026-10-19 PTOct 20, 01:04 AM PTNot provided by official source
Insurance history3uet-3z4i2026-10-19 PTOct 20, 01:04 AM PTNot provided by official source
Insurance history (legacy)Content frozen by FMCSA on 2026-05-14 (portal metadata 2026-10-19 is a republish, not new data); gap-fill only6sqe-dvqs2026-05-14Oct 20, 01:04 AM PTStale (source > 90 days)
Inspections, 24 moDriver-level 40 · vehicle-level 32fx4q-ay7w2026-10-19 PTOct 20, 01:04 AM PTRead
Crashes, 24 moaayw-vxb32026-10-19 PTOct 20, 01:04 AM PTRead
Directory DB: authority copyLive official read above is used for the profilecarrier_authorityNot provided—Not yet imported
Directory DB: insurance copycarrier_insuranceNot provided—Not yet imported

VAX record reference score

Beta · trial v1

Not an FMCSA rating, not a prediction and not a load decision. Thresholds are fixed and not yet calibrated.

Reference score (0–100)

Insufficient data

Coverage — determinable weight, not a score

60/100

Crashes, 24 mo (shown only, not scored)

5

How this trial score works and its limits →

01

Safety

Source: SMS AB PassProperty (4y6x-dmck) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-13 07:05 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Inspections

43

Driver insp.

42

OOS 1

Vehicle insp.

34

OOS 13

Safety rating

S

2009-12-03

Driver out-of-service rate2.4%
0%50%100%

1 out-of-service of 42 inspections

Vehicle out-of-service rate38.2%
0%50%100%

13 out-of-service of 34 inspections

Rate = OOS inspections ÷ inspections, from the SMS summary; N/A when there are 0 inspections. The SMS summary has no monthly series; the monthly chart below is built from record-level inspections. Roadside inspections are a sample, not the whole fleet.

Roadside inspections · record level

Source: Vehicle Inspection File (fx4q-ay7w) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 14:35 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Window: 2024-10-20 → 2026-10-20 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.

Inspections (records)

41

States observed

8

Driver-level insp.

40

with driver OOS 1 · 2.5%

Vehicle-level insp.

32

with vehicle OOS 12 · 37.5%

Monthly inspections & out-of-service rate · 24 months

Inspections per month (count)

03524-1025-0125-0425-0725-1026-0126-0426-0726-10
  • Vehicle-level inspections (I, II, V, VI)
  • Driver-level inspections (I, II, III, VI)

Out-of-service rate by month (%)

0%25%50%75%100%24-1025-0125-0425-0725-1026-0126-0426-0726-10
  • Vehicle OOS rate
  • Driver OOS rate (dashed)
  • Hollow point = fewer than 5 eligible inspections

Computed from record-level inspections in fx4q-ay7w (window 2024-10-20 → 2026-10-20, fetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC). OOS rate = inspections with driver/vehicle OOS > 0 ÷ inspections at a driver/vehicle-examining level — not violation counts. Months with no eligible inspection leave a gap (not 0%). The SMS summary is not used to build history.

Driver-level = Levels I, II, III, VI; vehicle-level = Levels I, II, V, VI (FMCSA North American Standard levels). Level IV special studies are in neither. These record-level counts can differ from the SMS summary above, which uses its own snapshot and is left unchanged.

DateStateLevelViolationsOOSDriver viol/OOSVehicle viol/OOSID
2026-09-02KS2420 / 04 / 288903017
2026-09-02CO2100 / 01 / 088902100
2026-08-31KS1422 / 02 / 288875646
2026-08-26KS3201 / 01 / 088831437
2026-08-17KS2302 / 01 / 088730114
All 41 inspections, map and level breakdown →

Reported crashes

Source: Crash File (aayw-vxb3) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 12:46 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Window: 2024-10-20 → 2026-10-20 (24 months ending on the fetch date). Records FMCSA has not yet uploaded are not included.

Crash reports

5

Fatalities

0

Injuries

2

Tow-away

5

Report dateCity, stateFatalitiesInjuriesTow-awayFederal recordableID
2026-09-01BRIGHTON, CO01YesYes5208238
2026-05-06MAPLETON, KS00YesYes5171432
2025-07-30Not Reported, KS01YesYes5019609
2025-06-19Not Reported, KS00YesYes4997960
2025-04-30RURAL, LA00YesYes4940077

Crash reports are listed as filed by states; they do not determine fault or preventability. VIN, plate and exact location are not shown.

02

Authority & Insurance

Operating authority by docket

No row matched this USDOT (bare or zero-padded) or its MC numbers. That alone does not prove the company has no authority — check FMCSA.

Source: Motus Carrier – All With History (inys-ebih) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 10:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Authority status history

No authority status-change row matched. That does not prove there were no changes.

Source: Motus AuthHist – All With History (yu5v-wbh6) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 10:03 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Status and reason text are shown exactly as FMCSA publishes them. The change date is FMCSA's status_change_date; “Dataset updated” is when FMCSA last published the file, and “Fetched” is when VAX read it. The two authority files are shown side by side and are not reconciled by VAX. Amounts: the dictionary says “thousands”, but published values look like dollars, so raw values are shown. Census status is not authority.

Insurance filings

No row matched this USDOT (bare or zero-padded) or its MC numbers. That does not prove the company has no insurance — check FMCSA L&I.

Source: Motus Insur – All With History (c5y8-a4uz) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 10:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Filings as recorded by FMCSA — not a certificate of insurance or proof of current coverage. Amounts are source values (dictionary: thousands).

Source: Motus InsHist – All With History (3uet-3z4i) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 10:02 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Source: InsHist – legacy (6sqe-dvqs) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 15:07 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTCFrozen by FMCSA since 2026-05-14

Prior policies

Insurance timeline
Hover a bar for insurer and dates.

Prior policies (3uet-3z4i + legacy 6sqe-dvqs) — effective → cancellation

TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY OF AMERICA · 2024-12-11 → 2026-01-01

TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY · 2024-05-10 → 2024-12-23

TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY · 2024-05-10 → 2024-12-11

TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE CO. · 2015-01-01 → 2024-05-10

THE CONTINENTAL INSURANCE CO. · 2012-01-01 → 2015-01-01

GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN · 2005-01-01 → 2012-01-27

GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN · 2005-01-01 → 2012-01-27

GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN · 2005-01-01 → 2012-01-01

TRANSCONTINENTAL INSURANCE CO. · 1999-03-01 → 2005-01-01

TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE CO. · 1999-03-01 → 2005-01-01

200020052010201520202025
1999-03-012026-01-01

Bars run only between published effective and cancellation dates. Current filings show their effective date only — no end is assumed and no continuous coverage is inferred. Current history: 3uet-3z4i; legacy rows from 6sqe-dvqs (frozen 2026-05-14) are kept only when not already in the current file.

  • TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY OF AMERICA

    Effective
    2024-12-11
    Cancelled
    2026-01-01
    Method
    Replaced
    Policy
    9M352747
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY

    Effective
    2024-05-10
    Cancelled
    2024-12-23
    Method
    Name Changed
    Policy
    9M352747
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY

    Effective
    2024-05-10
    Cancelled
    2024-12-11
    Method
    Replaced
    Policy
    9M352747
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE CO.

    Effective
    2015-01-01
    Cancelled
    2024-05-10
    Method
    Replaced
    Policy
    4034346024
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • THE CONTINENTAL INSURANCE CO.

    Effective
    2012-01-01
    Cancelled
    2015-01-01
    Method
    Replaced
    Policy
    4034346024
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN

    Effective
    2005-01-01
    Cancelled
    2012-01-27
    Method
    Cancelled
    Policy
    CBA 0412043
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN

    Effective
    2005-01-01
    Cancelled
    2012-01-27
    Method
    Cancelled
    Policy
    CCI 0412043
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN

    Effective
    2005-01-01
    Cancelled
    2012-01-01
    Method
    Replaced
    Policy
    CBA 0412043
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • TRANSCONTINENTAL INSURANCE CO.

    Effective
    1999-03-01
    Cancelled
    2005-01-01
    Method
    Replaced
    Policy
    163174638
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
  • TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE CO.

    Effective
    1999-03-01
    Cancelled
    2005-01-01
    Method
    Replaced
    Policy
    163174624
    Dataset
    6sqe-dvqs
03

Equipment

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 18:21 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Power units

263

Truck units

244

Bus units

0

EquipmentOwnedTerm leasedTrip leased
Straight trucks173——
Truck tractors683—
Trailers199——
Ownership mix by equipment type
Straight trucksIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
Truck tractorsIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
TrailersIncomplete source fields — no share computed—
  • Owned
  • Term leased
  • Trip leased

Tractors and trailers are drawn separately and never merged into power units. A row with any empty field shows no share.

MCS-150 self-reported counts. “—” means the source field is empty, not zero.

Vehicles observed in roadside inspections

Units: FMCSA Inspections Per Unit (wt8s-2hbx)Decoder: NHTSA vPICDataset updated 2026-10-19 14:06 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTCWindow 2024-10-20 → 2026-10-20

41 inspection(s) → 64 unit row(s) → 53 unique vehicle(s) by VIN. 2 row(s) without a valid 17-character VIN were skipped. Observed vehicles are not the full fleet and not proof of current ownership. Labels like PU-01 are anonymous; full VINs and plates are never shown.

Power units observed

Unique units

33

Decode coverage

94%

31/33

Average age

8.3 yr

n=31

Newest / oldest

2027 / 1996

Make

  • MACK12
  • RAM6
  • KENWORTH4
  • FREIGHTLINER2
  • INTERNATIONAL2
  • VOLVO TRUCK2
  • FORD1
  • PETERBILT1

Model year

  • 19961
  • 20061
  • 20092
  • 20141
  • 20151
  • 20164
  • 20171
  • 20182
  • 20194
  • 20204
  • 20213
  • 20222
  • 20232
  • 20242
  • 20271

Average age = 2026 − model year, over 31 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.

Trailers observed

Unique units

20

Decode coverage

65%

13/20

Average age

9.0 yr

n=13

Newest / oldest

2027 / 2006

Make

  • POLAR TANK TRAILER3
  • ELITE TRAILERS2
  • ETNYRE1
  • INTERSTATE TRAILERS1
  • KAUFMAN TRAILERS OF SC1
  • LBT INC1
  • LOAD TRAIL1
  • PJ1

Model year

  • 20061
  • 20071
  • 20091
  • 20154
  • 20211
  • 20221
  • 20232
  • 20241
  • 20271

Average age = 2026 − model year, over 13 unit(s) with a decoded year. Units without a decode are excluded from every share.

Observed equipment list
UnitMakeModelYearBody classInspectionsLast seen
PU-01FORDLT80001996Truck12026-09-02
TR-01TRAIL KING (reported)———12026-09-02
PU-02VOLVO TRUCKVNL2009Truck-Tractor12026-09-02
TR-02TEXAS BRAGG ENTERPRISESTexas Bragg Enterprises2009Trailer12026-08-31
PU-03RAM55002019Incomplete - Chassis Cab (Single Cab)22026-08-31
PU-04KENWORTHT8802023Truck12026-08-26
PU-05INTERNATIONALMV6072027Truck12026-08-17
PU-06MACKAnthem2021Truck-Tractor22026-08-11
TR-03POLAR TANK TRAILERPolar Tank Trailer2015Trailer12026-08-11
PU-07RAM55002020Incomplete - Chassis Cab (Single Cab)12026-07-31
04

Operations

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 18:21 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Carrier operation

Interstate (A)

Classification: PRIVATE PROPERTY;AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE;EXEMPT FOR HIRE

MCS-150 mileage

2,778,268 mi

Reported year 2025

Cargo classifications checked
  • General freight
  • Building materials
  • Machinery, large objects
  • Liquids/gases
  • Chemicals
  • Commodities dry bulk
  • Construction
  • Other: ASPHALT PRODUCTS
Interstate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
211 / 0
Intrastate drivers >100 mi / ≤100 mi
0 / 10
Hazmat indicator (hm_ind)
Y
Registered address
5201 BRIGHTON AVE, KANSAS CITY, MO, 64130, US

Lanes and service areas are not published by FMCSA. The registered address is not an operating map, and inspection states are observations only — not live routes or a service area.

05

Identity & Federal

Source: FMCSA Company Census (az4n-8mr2) · raw queryDataset updated 2026-10-19 18:21 UTCFetched 2026-10-20 08:04 UTC

Legal name
VANCE BROTHERS LLC
DBA
Not provided
USDOT
144525
MC / FF / MX
MC-142801
Physical address
5201 BRIGHTON AVE, KANSAS CITY, MO, 64130, US
Mailing address
5201 BRIGHTON AVE, KANSAS CITY, MO, 64130, US
Business type
CORPORATION
Carrier/shipper code
C;S
Census add date
1974-06-01
MCS-150 filing date
2026-02-04
Power units / drivers
263 / 221
Latest review (type · date)
C · 2009-11-06
06

Federal activity

  1. 2026-02-04Census

    Latest MCS-150 filing

  2. 2026-01-016sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (replaced) — TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY OF AMERICA

  3. 2024-12-236sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (name changed) — TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY

  4. 2024-12-116sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (replaced) — TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY

  5. 2024-05-106sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (replaced) — TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE CO.

  6. 2015-01-016sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (replaced) — THE CONTINENTAL INSURANCE CO.

  7. 2012-01-276sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (cancelled) — GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN

  8. 2012-01-276sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (cancelled) — GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN

  9. 2012-01-016sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (replaced) — GENERAL CASUALTY COMPANY OF WISCONSIN

  10. 2009-12-03Census

    Official safety rating: S

  11. 2009-11-06Census

    Compliance review recorded (C)

  12. 2005-01-016sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (replaced) — TRANSCONTINENTAL INSURANCE CO.

  13. 2005-01-016sqe-dvqs

    Prior policy ended (replaced) — TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE CO.

  14. 1974-06-01Census

    Added to FMCSA registration

Built only from dates in the sources above. Authority changes use FMCSA's own change date (yu5v-wbh6).

Changes observed by VAX monitoring

Loading…

07

FAQ

+What is VANCE BROTHERS LLC's USDOT number?

USDOT 144525, with docket(s) MC-142801.

+Is VANCE BROTHERS LLC active?

The census registration status code is A. This is a registration code only — it is not operating authority, insurance coverage or a safety certification.

+How many trucks and drivers does VANCE BROTHERS LLC report?

263 power units and 221 drivers, self-reported on the MCS-150 filed 2026-02-04.

+Does VANCE BROTHERS LLC have insurance on file?

No row matched by DOT (with and without leading zeros) or MC. That alone does not prove there is no insurance — check FMCSA L&I.

+Where is VANCE BROTHERS LLC located?

Registered physical address: 5201 BRIGHTON AVE, KANSAS CITY, MO, 64130, US. This is a registration address, not an operating area.

Answers are generated from the records on this page.

08

Nearby carriers

—

Sources

Each section shows its own fetch time; official data may have changed since. Official records plus an explainable trial record reference score (beta, not an official rating; no total when data is insufficient). No ranking, risk labels or load recommendations. Listing does not imply partnership, endorsement or platform access.